Phone: 1 (847) 802-6917 BismiAllah!
facebook 
Have a Question  
Search  
                              * Be sure to select the correct option from the right
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
 Show Only Halal 
Click here to search any food product under food category [A - Z] or [Apple Juice - Yogurt]
Muslim Consumer Group Muslim Consumer Group: Your Source for Halal Foods Information

Need help navigating our website? Please view our short tutorial video by clicking here!


LATEST NEWS

LATEST ALERTS

MCG App Now Available in Apple App store
for just $ 1.99iPhone App

MCG BOOK (2013 RELEASE)

Food Ingredients and Their Halal Status

Publisher: Muslim Consumer Group for Food Products (2013)
ISBN 13: 978-1-4675-6040-5
PaperbackeBook
$6.50 USD
Free Shipping
$7.00 USD
Online Only
Click Here to Buy Now

WEBSITE TUTORIAL

Training Video

MCG is a 100% non-profit organization, any proceeds received via the app or the book sale is solely used towards Halal Products Research.



What are the requirements of a Halal................

 

1. Apple Juice:

a. A kosher symbol on the bottle must be on the bottle otherwise pork gelatin can be used as processing aid ingredient during apple juice processing.

b. Flavor should not be under ingredients list because alcohol may be used as solvent in natural flavor.

2. Apple Sauce:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. Flavor should not be under ingredients list because alcohol may be used as solvent in natural flavor.

3. Bagels:

a. A kosher symbol required.

b. Flavor should not be under ingredients list because alcohol may be used as solvent in natural flavor. c. No L-Cysteine a mushbooh ingredient should be part of ingredients statement.

4. Bread:

a. A kosher is desired but not necessary.

b. The dough conditioners such as Mono & Diglycerides, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Ethoxylated Mono and Diglycerides, Hydrated Monoglycerides, DATEM should be from vegetable fat, confirmed by calling the bakery.

c. Dairy ingredients such as unsalted butter, buttermilk solids, Sodium Caseinate and whey should not be part of ingredients list if there is no kosher symbol on the package. Dry milk solids and Non Fat dry milk solid be OK with kosher symbol or call bakery to find every above ingredients are kosher certified or not. If they say yes then except unsalted butter every above ingredients will be Halal.

d. There should be no natural flavor or artificial flavor under the ingredients list with or without kosher symbol.

e. Bakeries are now adding vitamins or enrichment to the bread. If there is no kosher or vitamins are not  kosher certified then bread will not be Halal.

f. REB A the natural Stevia leaf non calorie sweetener is a not Halal ingredient and should not be part of the ingredients statement of the bread.

g. Turmeric Color should not be part of ingredients if there is no kosher symbol on the bread because polysorbate 80 an emulsifier is used as a hidden ingredient.

h. Dry yeast if from brewer yeast makes a bread not Halal.

5. Cereal:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No natural or artificial flavor should be part of the ingredients list.

c. Presence of Vanilla Extract or gelatin or natural vanilla or vanilla flavor or confectionary glaze makes a cereal not Halal.

6. Cheese:

a. Cheese is only Halal if it carries a kosher symbol or a Halal symbol if Halal certifying organization's Halal criteria meets MCG's Halal criteria.

b. Cheese should not be made with natural or artificial flavor. c. Carrageenan a mushbooh ingredient should be not part of the ingredients list.

7. Chocolate:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No natural or artificial flavor or confectionary glaze or natural vanilla flavor or vanilla extract or Resinous Glaze should be part of the ingredients list.

8. Cookies and Crackers:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No natural or artificial flavor or confectionary glaze or natural vanilla flavor or vanilla extract or gelatin should be part of the ingredients list.

9. Evaporated Milk:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b.Carrgeenan should not be used because ethyl alcohol may be use in the processing of Carrageenan.

10. Fruit Juices:

a. A kosher is desired but not necessary if the fruit juice is 100% fruit juice except apple juice.

b. No natural or artificial flavor or vanilla extract or Stevia is a part of ingredients list.

11. Granola Bars:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor or vanilla extract or soy protein isolate or carrageenan or vanilla flavor or vanilla used under ingredients statement.

12. Infant Formula:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor, no nucleotide, no Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate, Cytidene 5' - Monophosphate, Disodium Guanosine 5' - Monophosphate, Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate, Inosito5' - Monophosphate should be part of ingredients list.

13. Macaroni & Cheese dinner:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No alcohol is used in natural or artificial flavor in cheese mix.

14. Margarine or Spread:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No alcohol is used in flavor.

15. Mayonnaise:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. Natural or artificial flavor should be free of alcohol. No wine, no L-Cysteine should be used.

16. Multivitamins and fish oil:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. The ingredients should contain natural or artificial flavor or no extracts should be used because alcohol may be used as a extracting solvent.

c. No gelatin in the capsule, veggie capsules are Halal. No soft gel containing gelatin, no pharmaceutical glaze and no aqueous coating should be part of ingredients list.

17. Potato Chips:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor or no alcohol in flavor, no yeast extract or no torula yeast should not be used.

18. Sour Cream:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor no carrageenan no gelatin should be used.

19. Yogurt:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor, no vanilla flavor, no kosher gelatin should be part of ingredients.

 
NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED NON MEAT FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction).  

HOW TO PHRASE YOUR QUESTION ABOUT ALCOHOL IN FLAVOR OF A FOOD PRODUCT

The question about alcohol in flavor is a tricky one because it is a hidden ingredient of the flavor. If you ask alcohol question to non technical consumer department person of a food company, first they look at the ingredients list of the food product and will find no alcohol is mentioned. Then they will say we do not use alcohol in our products because they do not know the alcohol is a hidden ingredient of the flavor. We request Muslim consumers to use the following phrase when asking or writing the question to consumer department of any food company regarding the presence or absence of alcohol in the flavor of a food product.

" is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; ethanol or ethyl alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether ethanol or ethyl alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent".

How to ask question about presence or absence of alcohol in natural or artificial flavor before spray drying the food products:

" Do you use alcohol in natural or artificial flavor in dried food products such as non dairy coffee creamer or dry ingredients mixes or dry seasoning mixes or cake mixes before spry drying or processing those products. We know in most spray dried food product even if alcohol was used before spray drying then alcohol will evaporate or dried out after spray drying or processing."

MUSLIM CONSUMER GROUP FOR FOOD PRODUCTS USA AND CANADA

Muslim Consumer Group for Food Products is a non-profit, non-political and Islamic scientific organization, incorporated in 1993 as a Halal foods educational and Halal certification organization for Muslims consumers and food industry. Muslim consumers worldwide in over 161 countries logged in to our website for information on Halal food products and food ingredients. Muslim Consumer Group provides services that benefits Muslims.

"IN THE NAME OF ALLAH, THE MOST GRACIOUS, THE MOST MERCIFUL

"Praise be to Allah, the Lord of the Worlds (mankind, Jinns and all that exist). The Most Gracious, the Most Merciful. Master of Day of Judgment. You (Alone) we worship, and You (Alone) we ask for help (for each and everything). Guide us to the Straight Way. The way of those on whom You have bestowed Your Grace, not (the way) of those who earned Your Anger, nor of those who went astray. (Quran, Sure Fateha)"                                    

New Food Products
StatusProduct *BrandDate
haramRich Creamy Vanilla FrostingBetty Crocker04-14-14
haramCranberry Apple JuiceOccean Spray03-31-14
halal100% Apple Juice OrganicApple & Eve03-31-14
halalPineapple JuiceDole03-31-14
halalPineapple juiceDole03-31-14
halalApple JuiceHansen's Junior Juice03-31-14
haramOrganic Apple JuiceR. W. Knudge03-31-14
haramCranberry Apple Juice from concentrate,Pomegrante Cranberry flavored Juice Coctail, No Sugar added 100% Juice Blend Cranberry Juice BeverageGreat Value(Wal-Mart brand)03-31-14
halalNo Sugar Added 100% Apple Juice from concentrate with added ingredients 96 OZGreat Value03-31-14
halal100% Apple Juice Not from concentrate with added fiber & Vitamin c 64 Fl. OZGreat Value03-31-14
* Click on the product name to view details.
Ingredients
StatusIngredient *
haramGrape Seed Extract
halalSodium Erythorbate
halalErythorbic Acid
unknownWorcestershire Sauce
halalSemolina, Durum Wheat Flour
* Click on the ingredient name to view details.
Non Food Products
Product *Brand
 liquid antibiotic named Cefdinir 250MG/5ML Suspension 60ML, NDC: 68180-0723-20Lupin
 Body Lotions, Body Butters, Hand Care, Foot Care, DeodorantsLush
 Toothy Tabs, Cleaners, Tuners, Moisturizers, Fresh Face Masks, Shaving CreamsLush
 Caca Marron, Caca Noir, Caca Brun, Caca RougeLush
 Dirty Hair Cream, Sea Spray,Lush
 Big Solid Conditioner, Jungle, Coolaulin, Happy Happy Joy JoyLush
 Jumping Juniper, Trichomania, Dr. Peppermint, Squeaky GreenLush
 Ice Blue Soap, Honey I Washed The Kids Soap, Carrot Soap, Figs and Leaves, Rock Star Bar SoapsLush
 All Junior Chewable TabletsAdvil
 Advil Liqui-Gels Solublized Ibuprofen 200 mg CapsulesAdvil
* Click on the product name to view details.