USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS

Symbol: Halal Halal   Symbol: Not Halal Not Halal   Symbol: Mushbooh or Unknown Mushbooh or Unknown   Symbol: Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor   Symbol: MCG Certified Halal  MCG Certified Halal
     
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
Click here to search any food product under food category [A - Z] or [Apple Juice - Yogurt]

<< Click here to return to the previous screen.

Category Selected: Coffee Creamers

Halal Status Product Name UPS Code Category Product Brand Comments Date

Not Halal

haramDry Powder And Liquid Non Dairy Coffee CreamersCoffee CreamersCoffee MateMuslim Consumer Group is educating Muslim consumers that whenever the word "Natural Flavor" attached to Vanilla food products, it means vanilla natural flavor is extracted with alcohol and water from vanilla beans. One of our sister questioned Nestle regarding their claims "No Alcohol is used in Coffee Mate's flavor" including the Coffee Mate's Liquid Vanilla Latte which is made with Natural and Artificial Flavor. Here is their response: Dear Ms------, Thank you for taking the time to contact Nestlé® Coffee-mate® Non-Dairy Creamer regarding the alcohol content of our product. We welcome questions and comments from loyal consumers such as yourself and appreciate this opportunity to assist you. You are correct that natural vanilla is obtained by alcohol extraction. In fact, there are FDA standards of identity for vanilla extract. However, all of the flavors used in Coffee-mate are dry flavors so any alcohol will be removed during the drying process. At Nestlé, we are dedicated to you and your family throughout every phase of your lives. Your feedback is valuable to us, as it helps us to improve our products and services. We appreciate your interest in our products and hope you will visit our website often for the latest information on our products and promotions. Sincerely, Beverly Watson Consumer Response Representative Ref #:19997486 If they say no alcohol in flavor, we recommend Muslim consumers to ask to clarify whether it is originally made from liquid flavors then dried to make dry flavors. I myself exposed to this experience when I was working for Best Eaton Donut chain in Rhode Island when we are using dry flavor for vanilla donuts. The flavor supplier told me it contained dried natural vanilla flavor. This means the alcohol is evaporated during spray drying processing. So please do not consume any Natural Vanilla flavor containing food products or where Vanilla is product name with Natural & Artificial flavor. If vanillin or artificial vanilla flavor mentioned then there is no alcohol in it. This is the reason we assign "Not Halal" status to all Coffee Mate dry powder or liquid products. ----- Forwarded Message ----- From: "Nestlebeverage@casupport.com" To: mghz1@.com Sent: Thursday, January 16, 2014 4:55 AM Subject: Response from Nestlé Beverage Case ID: 25576992 January 15, 2014 Dear Mr. Hadj, Thank you for taking the time to contact Nestlé® Coffee-mate® Non-Dairy Creamer regarding the use of alcohol as a carrier. We welcome questions and comments from loyal consumers such as yourself and appreciate this opportunity to assist you. Flavors may use alcohol as a solvent. However when the flavors are made into powders that we use the alcohol is removed due to the heat. At Nestlé, we are dedicated to you and your family throughout every phase of your lives. Your feedback is valuable to us, as it helps us to improve our products and services. We appreciate your interest in our products and hope you will visit our website often for the latest information on our products and promotions. Sincerely, Beverly Watson Consumer Response Representative Ref:25576992 ------------------------------------------------------------------ 01-27-14