USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS

Symbol: Halal Halal   Symbol: Not Halal Not Halal   Symbol: Mushbooh or Unknown Mushbooh or Unknown   Symbol: Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor   Symbol: MCG Certified Halal  MCG Certified Halal

Have a Question? Please visit our new and improved Ask Questions Section.

     
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
Click here to search any food product under food category [A - Z] or [Apple Juice - Yogurt]

Halal-Haram-Mushbooh Ingredients

Click on the table title to sort alphabetically.

Halal Status Ingredient Category Description
halalCultured Wheat FlourGrain and plant based ingredientsCultured wheat Flour is made by adding bacteria to wheat flour for non alcoholic fermentation to produce organic acids such as lactic acid, acetic acid, butyric acid and propionic acid to lower the ph of the wheat flour. This cultured wheat flour is used as a natural mold inhibitor otherwise chemicals such as calcium propionate or sorbic acid or potassium sorbate has to use to retard the growth of molds on fresh bread and other fresh bakery products. Cultured wheat flour is a Halal flour.
halalCuminGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a plant based spice.
halalCurry PowderGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a blend of plant based spices.
haramCytidene 5' - MonophosphateGrain & plant based ingredientsCytidene 5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
unknownDATEM (Di- Acetyl Tartrate Ester of Monoglycerides)Ingredients made from plant or animal fatIt is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
halalDextrinGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a part of plant starch.
halalDextroseGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a corn sweetener from corn starch.
halalDicalcium PhosphateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
unknownDiglycerideIngredients made from plant or animal fatIt is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
halalDillGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a plant based spice.
halalDipotassium PhosphateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
haramDisodium Guanosine 5' - MonophosphateGrain & plant based ingredientsNucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Disodium Guanosine 5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
halalDisodium GuanylateGrain and plant based ingredientDisodium Guanylate is a flavor enhancer used in soups, gravies, sauces, fish and seafoods. Although it is a nucleotide but it is obtained through bacterial non- alcoholic fermantation on sugar or from sugarcane itself. It should not be confused with nucleotide from Torula yeast which grown alcohol or sugar cane which is used in infant baby formula.
halalDisodium InosinateGrain and plant based ingredient.Disodium Inosinate is a flavor enhancer used in soups, gravies, sauces, fish and seafoods. Although it is nucleotide but it is obtained through bacterial non- alcoholic fermantation on sugar or from sugarcane itself. It should not be confused with nucleotide from Torula yeast which grown alcohol or sugar cane which is used in baby infant formula.
haramDisodium Uridine 5' - MonophosphateGrain & plant based ingredientsDisodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
unknownDried MilkDairy IngredientsMilk is Halal but dryers use to dried milk should not use for drying the Haram dairy products, it has to be Halal or Kosher certified.
halalDurum FlourGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a flour obtained from durum wheat.
halalEDTAMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical chelating agent.
halalEgg WhiteIngredients from Egg and FishIt is a egg white products.
halalEgg YolksIngredients from Egg and FishIt is egge yolk product.
halalEggsIngredients from Egg and FishIt is whole eggs.
unknownEnzyme Modified LecithinGrain and plant based ingredientsEnzyme modified Lecithin is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified. If you see a Halal or Kosher symbol on food package containing enzyme modified lecithin the enzyme modified lecithin is Halal.
unknownEnzyme Modified Soya LecithinIngredients made from plant or animal enzymeSoy lecithin is modified by use of lipase enzyme. It is Halal only if microbial lipase is used or Halal or Kosher certified.
halalEnzymes used in Bakery ProductsGrain & Plant based IngredientsThis includes Amylases and Proteolysis.
unknownEnzymes used in Cheeses or Dairy ProductsGrain & Plant based Ingredients or animal sourceEnzymes are protein obtained from plant and animal sources.
halalErythorbic AcidGrain & Plant based IngredientsErythorbic Acid is Isomeric molecule of Ascorbic Acid obtained from vegetable based sucrose.
haramErythritolGrain & plant based ingredientsErythritol is a sugar alcohol obtained either from cornstarch or fruit alcoholic fermentation.
unknownEthoxylated Mono- and DiglyceridesIngredients made from plant or animal fatIt is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
haramEthyl Alcohol or EthanolFermentation sourcesEthyl alcohol, grain alcohol, ethanol. a colorless, volatile, flammable liquid, C2H5OH, produced by yeast fermentation of carbohydrates or, synthetically, by hydration of ethylene: used chiefly as a solvent and in beverages and medicines. It is an intoxicant. All intoxicants are Haram according to a Hadith.
halalEthylvanillinChemicalEthyl Vanillin is differ from vanillin by having ethoxy group (–O–CH2CH3) rather methoxy group (–O–CH3). It is made from Lignin base a pulp from wood or guaiacol.
halalFarinaGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a ground particles of durum wheat.
halalFennelGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a plant based spice.
halalFenugreekGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a plant based spice.
haramFermented CiderHaram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationIt is a fermented apple juice.
halalFermented Wheat FlourGrain or plant based ingredientFermented wheat flour with sourdough lactobacilli and fungal proteases enzyme or wheat flour is fermented certain micro-organisms is consider Halal.
halalFerric OxideMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
halalFerrous SulphateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
halalFish GelatinIngredients from Egg and FishIt is made from bones of fish. But it must say Fish Gelatin under the ingredients statement.
halalFlourGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is obtained by grinding cereal seeds.
unknownFolic AcidMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsFolic acid is a vitamin B. It is obtained synthetically or from Vitamin B. It is Halal if is Halal or Kosher certified. It is not Halal if it is obtained from non Halal sources.
halalFructoseGrain & Plant based IngredientsA sweetener obtained from sugar or sucrose.
halalFumaric AcidMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
halalGarlicGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based spice.
haramGelatinIngredients made from animalsIt is Haram product if it is made from pig. Many ulema consider it Haram if it is made from non zabiha beef.
halalGellan GumGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based gum.
halalGhatti GumGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based gum.
halalGingerGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based spice.
halalGlucon-Delta-LactoneMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsIt is a acidulant and used in chemical leavening. It is obtained through bacterial non alcoholic fermentation.
halalGlutenGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant protein.
unknownGlycerinGrain & Plant based Ingredients or animal source Glycerin is a polyhydric alcohol (not ethyl alcohol) used as a humectant. It is made from fat either plant or animal.
unknownGlycerol EsterIngredients made from plant or animal fatIt is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
unknownGlycerol MonostearateIngredients from plant or animal fatGlycerol Monostearate is emulsifier. It is Halal only if it is obtained from plant fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
haramGlycol or Ethylene GlycolSynthetic lLiquidGlycol is also ethylene glycol. It is a synthetic liquid used to make antifreeze and de-icing solutions for cars, airplanes and boats. Ethylene glycol is toxic to humans and animals. It is an intoxicant and not Halal.
halalGraham FlourGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a whole wheat flour.
halalGrapeGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a fruit.
haramGrape Seed ExtractGrain and plant based ingredientsGrape Seed Extract is not Halal because seeds are typically obtained from grape seeds waste of wineries or after wine making.
haramGrape Skin PowderGrain & Plant based IngredientsGrape Skin Powder is not Halal because grape skin are typically obtained from grape waste of wineries or after wine making. Grape Skin Powder is not Halal because grape skin are typically obtained from grape waste of wineries or after wine making.
haramGrapeseed oilGrain & Plant based IngredientsThe source of grape seeds is not from grape because in order to obtained the grape seeds from grapes you have to destroy grapes which can be used for table grape purpose. So the only source of grape seeds is from when grapes is used to make wine. Wine does not contain grape seeds because non Muslims can not drink it. So they have to filter the grape seeds and it is utilized in making grape seed extract and grape seed oil. Both are not Halal.
halalGuar GumGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a gum obtained from plant.
haramHamHaram Ingredients from PigIt is a pig meat.
haramHard CiderHaram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationIt is a fermented apple juice.
halalHigh Fructose Corn SyrupGrain & Plant based IngredientsA sweetener obtained from corn.
halalHoneyGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a natural syrup sweetener.
halalHorseradishGrain & Plant based IngredientsA spice obtained from horseradish plant.
halalHydrogenated Starch Hydrolysates,Grain & plant based ingredientsHydrogenated Strach Hydrolysates is a sugar alcohol.
halalHydrogenated Vegetable OilGrain & Plant based IngredientsOil obtained from plant fat.
halalHydrolyzed Vegetable ProteinGrain & Plant based IngredientsA flavor enhancer obtained from vegetable protein.
unknownHydroxylated LecithinIngredients made from plant or animal fatIt is Halal if it is Halal or Kosher certified.
haramInosito5' - MonophosphateGrain and plant based ingredientsInosito5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
halalInulinGrain and Plant based ingredientsInulin is storage carbohydrates in chicory, artichoke and other plants. It is extracted by water from roots of plant.
halalInvert SugarGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based sweetener. It is a mixture of dextrose and fructose.
halalIronMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA metal.
halalIsomaltGrain & Plant based ingredientsIsomalt is a sugar alcohol.
haramIsopropyl Alcohol or Isoproponal AlcoholMany SourcesIt is a Haram ingredient. July 2014
halalKarayaGrain & Plant based IngredientsA tree gum.
halalKelpGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a brown seaweed grown on ocean water.
haramL-CysteineHuman Hair or Chicken FeathersThe L-Cysteine made from human hair is a Haram ingredient. The L-Cystiene made from chicken/duck feathers is not consider as Halal by ulema. July 2014
halalL-CysteineSynthetic and FermentationThere are two companies who makes the Halal L-Cysteine and they are: 1. Wacker Chemie of Germany who make the L-Cysteiene by bacterial fermentation in which no alcohol is produced. It is also term as L-Cysteine from fermentation. 2. Ajinomonto Company makes L-Cysteine by synthetic method. This L-Cysteine is Halal certified by Council of Indonesia Ulema. July 2014
halalLactic AcidMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsAn acid.
unknownLactitolMilk based ingredientLactitol is a sugar alcohol and made from whey a by-product of cheese making. It is Halal only if it is obtained from Halal or Kosher certified sweet whey or acid whey or a Halal or kosher symbol or suitable for vegetarian appears on food package containing Lactitol.
unknownLactoseDairy IngredientsLactose is milk sugar and obtained from whey during cheese making, so it has to be Halal or Kosher certified for its Halal status.
halalLanolinSheep Wool based ProductLanolin is fat obtained from sheep wool without slaughtering the sheep.
halalLanolin AlcoholSheep Wool based productsLanolin Alcohol is a sheep's wool wax.
haramLard Ingredients made from Pig FatIt is a pig fat.
halalLecithinGrain and plant based ingredientsLecithin is made from soy fat in USA and it is kosher certified.
halalLicorice RootGrain & Plant based IngredientsA flavoring obtained from plant root.
halalLocust Bean GumGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based gum.
halalMaceGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based spice.
halalMagnesium CarbonateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
unknownMagnesium StearateMineral, Chemical, Animal, Synthetic based IngredientsIt is a Magnesium salt of stearaic acid and used as an anticaking agent or llubricant. It is Halal if the stearic acid is from plant fat or Halal or Kosher certified. It is Haram if the stearic acid is from pork fat.
halalMaizeGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a another name of corn.
halalMaltGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is produced from barley a source of enzymes.
halalMaltitolGrain & plant based ingredientsMaltitol is a sugar alcohol
halalMaltodextrinGrain & Plant based IngredientsA product obtained from starch.
halalMaltoseGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a one of the part of starch.
halalMannitolGrain & Plant based ingredientsMannitol is a sugar alcohol.
halalMaple SugarGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a sugar obtained from maple tree.
halalMaple SyrupGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a natural syrup obtained from maple tree.
unknownMargarineGrain & Plant based IngredientsA product whose consitancy and application similar to butter. It is made by mixing milk, fat (either plant or animal) and artificial flavor to provide butter flavor.
halalMarjoramGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based spice.
lashes($r['category']).''; echo ''.stripslashes($r['descrip']).''; echo ''; } echo ''; ?>