BismiAllah! facebook
logo

HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS

Symbol: Halal Halal   Symbol: Not Halal Not Halal   Symbol: Mushbooh or Unknown Mushbooh or Unknown   Symbol: Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor   Symbol: MCG Certified Halal  MCG Certified Halal

Have a Question? Please visit our new and improved Ask Questions Section.

     
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
Click here to search any food product under food category [A - Z] or [Apple Juice - Yogurt]

Halal-Haram-Mushbooh Ingredients

Click on the table title to sort alphabetically.

Halal Status Ingredient Category Description
unknownSour Cream SolidsDairy Ingredients Sour cream solids are Halal only if they are Halal or Kosher certified because gelatin is used in the manufacturing of sour cream.
haramSovent Extracted Modified LecithinGrain and plant based ingredientsFractionation with Alcohol.
unknownSoy Protein ConcentrateGrain & Plant based IngredientsThe Soy Protein Concentrate is obtained by processing of soybean flour to remove the soluble carbohydrate. During processing ethyl alcohol is used a s solvent. Majority of Soy Protein Concentrate in the market is made with ethyl alcohol. Minority of soy protein concentrate is made with water without ethyl alcohol according to Solae Company.
halalSoy Protein IsolateGrain & Plant based IngredientsThe Soy Protein Isolate is obtained soybean flour by extracting the protein by water according to Solae Company.
halalSoy Sauce(All Purpose)Grain and plant based ingredientsAll Purpose Soy Sauce is non naturally brewed soy sauce which is obtained without fermentation by blending hydrolyzed soy protein, salt, water, corn surup and sodium benzoate. It is not made with Wheat and Soy. La Choy is a leading Halal brand of All Purpse Soy Sauce in USA and Canada.
halalSoya FlourGrain & Plant based IngredientsFlour obtained from soybean.
halalSoya LecithinIngredients made from plantIt is an emulsifier obtained from soybean fat.
halalSoya OilGrain & Plant based IngredientsOil obtained from soybean.
haramSoya Sauce(Naturally Brewed)Grain & Plant based IngredientsNaturally Brewed Soy Sauce with ingredient statement Wheat and Soy is obtained by fermenting soybean and wheat just like wine. Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce contains 2-3% alcohol.
halalSoybeanGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant pod.
halalSoybean OilIngredients made from plant fatIt is obtained from soybean fat.
halalSpicesGrain & Plant based IngredientsThey are plant based spices.
halalStarchGrain & Plant based IngredientsA endosperm of cereal seed.
unknownSteviaNatural SweetenerStevia which is a natural sweetener called Steviol Glycol. It is extracted from Stevia plant by water but crystallized it by use of ethyl alcohol. But recently (December 2013 MCG found one company which sell Stevia without alcohol)there are few small manufacturer who do not use alcoholic fermentation. These product for personal use not for commercial used. Stevia in supermarket retail products is still made by Cargill Company which used alcoholic fermentation.
halalSucraloseArtificial SweetenerThere is no alcohol is used during processing of sucralose. Methanol which is a toxic chemical is used during processing. It does not cause intoxication but it is poison chemical
halalSugarGrain & Plant based IngredientsA sweetener obtained from cane sugar and beet.
halalSunflowerGrain & Plant based IngredientsA seed.
haramSurimiFood from seaSurimi can be made from fish or crab or lobster or shell fish so ift is made other than fish then it is not Halal according to Hanafi fiqah. Crab is Hram for Hanafi, lobster is mashbooh. Most of Shelfish are Haram. What guarantee you have that Surimi is only going to make from fish only.
unknownSushiFood From seaSushi is made with raw fish, rice and vinegar. They may use rice vinegar which is made from rice wine. some people use mirin to make sushi rice. The alcohol content of mirin can range from 6.7-14%.
halalTapioca StarchGrain & Plant based IngredientsA starch obtained from roots of cassava plant.
halalTartaric acidGrain & Plant based Ingredients An acident found in grapes. It is made from crushed grapes in USA and Canada.
unknownTaurineGrain and plant based ingredients and animal basedTaurine is a non essential amino acid made from protein. It is Halal if it is made from vegetable protein such as soy protein and it is Haram if it is made from pig gelatin.
unknownTBHQMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical antioxidant and comes with a carrier. It is Halal only if ivegetable oil is used as a carrier and Halal or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified and conatins animal fat.
haramTeriyaki, Teriyaki SuaceGrain & plant based ingredientsTeriyaki or Teriyaki sauce is made by using Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce(a soy & wheat fermented sauce containing 2-3% alcohol)with or without Mirin or Sake a sweet rice wine with other ingredients such as sugar, hone, pineapple, spices, bromelain a Halal enzyme.
halalTextured Vegetable ProteinGrain & Plant based IngredientsA vegetable protein which is extrudes to look like beef strip or nuggets.
unknownThiamine MononitrateGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a B1 vitamin. Thiamine can be produced synthetically from the bran coat of grains and yeast. It is Halal if Halal or Kosher certified and not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
halalTitanium DioxideMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
unknownTocopherol or Vitamin EGrain & Plant based IngredientsA fat soluble vitamin E obtained either from plant or animal fat.
halalTofuGrain & Plant based IngredientsA food coagulating the soy juice or soybean curd. The coagulator used are calcium sulfate (gypsum), Magnesium chloride, and glucono-delta-lactone.
halalTragacanthGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant gum.
halalTricalcium phosphateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
unknownTurmericGrain & Plant based IngredientsTurmeric is a colorant spice obtained from the root of the plant. It is Halal if used as pure turmeric powder. But some companies are add fat based emulsifier to use it in a liquid system. It is Haram if pork emulsifier is used as a carrier. It is Halal if there is Halal or Kosher symbol on the food package containing turmeric.
unknownTurmeric ExtractGrain and Plant based ingredientsIf Turmeric Extarct is extracted with Acetone then it is Halal but if it is extracted with alcohol then it is not Halal.
unknownTurola YeastGrain & Plant based IngredientsTorula yeast is single celled plant and used for flavoring. It can be grown on sugar cane which is a Halal substrate or it can be grown on alcohol or liquor the it became not Halal.
unknownVanilla Bean PowderGrain & Plant based Ingredientsif It is 100% ground vanilla beans before vanilla extraction then it is Halal but if vanilla beans left after alcohol extraction then dried and make powder then it is not Halal.
haramVanilla Bean SpecksGrain & plant based ingredientsVanilla bean specks are made mostly from vanilla bean seeds which are obtained after alcohol extraction Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors. The seeds leftover after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make vanilla bean specks. This is called exhausted Vanilla bean specks in food industry. Vanilla beans specks without alcohol extraction are very expensive so many ice cream manufacturer do not use this type of vanilla bean specks. Our ulema consider vanilla bean specks as not Halal if it is obtain after alcohol extraction because alcohol is used on seeds to get vanilla flavor and it is contaminated the Halal vanilla bean seeds.
haramVanilla Beans or Vanilla Beans Speck mentioned in a the ingredients statmentGrain and Plant based ingredientsVanilla Bean Specks: Vanilla bean specks are made mostly from vanilla bean seeds which are obtained after alcohol extraction of Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors. The seeds leftover after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make vanilla bean specks. This is called exhausted Vanilla bean specks in the food industry. Vanilla beans specks without alcohol extraction are very expensive, so many ice cream manufacturers use exhausted types of vanilla bean or vanilla bean specks. Our Islamic Scholars consider exhausted vanilla bean or specks as not Halal because it is obtained after alcohol extraction. Alcohol is used on vanilla beans to get vanilla flavor and it contaminates the Halal vanilla bean seeds. September 2014
haramVanilla ExtractIngredient from plantVanilla extract is flavorant made fromvanilla bean extract. It is extracted with alcohol and contains minimum 35% alcohol in solution.
halalVanillinMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsVanillin is a flavorant made from synthetic or artificial vanilla which can be plant lignin or synthetically mad e from guaiacol and eugenol.
halalVegetable OilsIngredients made from plant or vegetable fatIt is made from vegetable fat..
halalVinegarMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsVinegar is a acidulant and flavorant. It is made from cider, grape, sucrose, glucose, malt by successive alcoholic and acetous fermentation.. The term vinegar is applies to cider..
halalVital Wheat GlutenGrain & Plant based IngredientsVital wheat gluten is a protein obtained from wheat grain.
unknownVitamin A as RetinolIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin B12: As CyanocobalaminIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin B1: As ThiamineIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin B2: As RiboflavinIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin B5: As Pantotherric AcidIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin B6: As PyridoxineIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
halalVitamin C or Ascorbic AcidIngredients from plantIt is made from plant or synthetic sources
unknownVitamin D as Calciferol:Ingredients from plant or animal sourcesFor the dairy industry it is made from sheep&&&&s Lanolin (wool) for fortifying the milk. It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin E: As TocopherolIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin K:Ingredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
halalWheatGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a cereal.
halalWheat FlourGrain & Plant based IngredientsFlour obtained bt grinding wheat.
unknownWheyDairy Ingredients :Whey is the liquid portion of the milk when milk is coagulated. It is the by-product of cheese making. It is Halal only if the whey is Halal or Kosher certified.
unknownWhey Protein Concentrate.Dairy IngredientsWhey Protein Concentrate is made from whey. It is Halal only if is Halal or Kosher certified.
haramWineHaram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationIt is a fermented product.
haramWine VinagarGrain & plant based ingredientsWine vinegar is made from wine which is Haram in Islam. Not all wine is converted to vinegar. The flavor and color of wine are also Haram which do not convert to a new thing.
haramWine vinegar.Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationIt is obtained from wine and contains left over wine, wine flavor and color.
unknownWorcestershire SauceAnchovies basedWorcestershire sauce in USA is made under Lea & Perrins brand and it is a mushbooh sauce. If alcoholic fermented anchovies are used then it is not Halal. If alcohol is used in natural flavoring and in chili pepper extract then it is not Halal.
halalXanthan GumGrain & Plant based Ingredients
halalXylitolGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a sugar alcohol and sweetener for substutting sugar obtained from birch trees.
haramYeast Extract from Brewer YeastGrain & Plant based IngredientsBrewer Yeast Extract is obtained from Brewer Yeast. Most Brewer's Yeast is obtained from by-product of beer making. During beer making alcohol of beer penetrate inside the yeat. It is also obtained after growning on alcohol.
halalzein.Grain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a corn protein.
lashes($r['category']).''; echo ''.stripslashes($r['descrip']).''; echo ''; } echo ''; ?>